Home > kitchens > elements for the perfect white kitchen

elements for the perfect white kitchen

White kitchens – they get me every time.  My ideal kitchen would be a mix of contemporary and traditional elements to create a bright, airy, casual, and inviting atmosphere. To achieve this I would include a combination of: white cabinetry, carrera marble or white subway tile back splash, hardwood floors, large functional island with pull-up seating, and industrial or bare bulb pendants.

Here is a sampling of kitchens I am drawn to….

Love the contrasting espresso trim and height of the upper cabinetry. Beautiful glass pendants. However I find the chairs a little too matchy-matchy with the rest of the room. I’d like to see something a bit more casual, such as these ones below.

Crisp, clean, classic back splash. Amazing floors. Great mix of traditional, contemporary, and rustic.

Love the huge range cover with shelf.  But I am wondering about those chairs – do the homeowners have toothpicks for thighs?

Great industrial pendants. The dark counter tops add some weight to balance that huge centre island. Love all the natural wood.

Perhaps a bit too country for my taste, but I do like the ceiling and cabinetry.

Definitely a feminine kitchen. The soft wallpaper is a nice alternative to white walls.  I like the upper display cabinets.

More modern than the others but the carrera marble back splash adds texture and depth to the otherwise sleek look.  The bare bulb pendants add warmth and style.

Another great mix of styles – modern cabinets, rustic floors, traditional lighting, contemporary furniture.

And I just had to include this teeny tiny white kitchen. Apparently size doesn’t limit style and function!

(images: 1-6 decor pad, 7 the marion house book, 8 skonahem, 9 pure kitchen)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment